Sightings for October 2005

Sunday 30th Oct 2005
15+ Snipe [Clifton Pit], 2 Goldeneye [Main Pit], male & female Stonechat[Erewash Field], Bittern - over the Trent from the south.

Saturday 29th Oct 2005
Attenborough - 12+ Gadwall [Beeston Pond]

Friday 28th Oct 2005
Attenborough N.R. - Scaup fem.on main pond,brambling,siskin over delta gate,7 goldeneye,jay.

Wednesday 26th Oct 2005
Attenborough - Female Scaup still on eastern end of the Main Pond mid-am, small flocks of Fieldfares moving around, Migrant Hawker in the delta wood.

Tuesday 25th Oct 2005
Attenborough N.R. - Scaup (fem.) on main pond, peregrine, 9 goldeneye, lesser redpoll, red-crested pochard, many hundreds of redwing and fieldfare moving sw.

Monday 24th Oct 2005
Attenborough N.R. - Fem.scaup on main pond,goldeneye(3),40+fieldfare,buzzard.

Saturday 22nd Oct 2005
Attenborough - Clifton Pit: Grey Wagtail, 4 Snipe, 2 Buzzard, 2 Goldeneye; Wet Marsh: Water Rail; Sailing Pit: Western Yellow-Legged Gull.

Thursday 20th Oct 2005
Attenborough - Water Rail ( Wet Marsh), Wigeon, Goldeneye. Firecrest [by delta gate,at 10.00 am], Jack Snipe [clifton pit], Goldeneye x2, water Rail x3, Grey wagtail x2, ruddy duck x1.

Wednesday 19th Oct 2005
Attenborough N.R. - Firecrest by delta gate c.10.15am.

Tuesday 18th Oct 2005
Red Crested Pochard [church pond], Goldeneye x4, Snipe x6 [clifton pit], Water Rail x3 [wetmarsh], Golden Plover x19, Barnacle Goose, Redwing c60, Willow Tit x4

Monday 17th Oct 2005
Golden Plover x2 [tween], Blackcap, Grey Wagtail. Herring Gull and Snipe x6 [clifton pit]. 650 + Redwing, 5 Fieldfare (SW), brambling, siskin, lesser redpoll, chiffchaff (2 one singing),15 golden plover, 6 water rail, fem.goldeneye on Clifton pit.

Friday 14th Oct 2005
1 Reed warbler along North Path. Barnacle Goose - [Visitor Centre]; Wigeon, 1 Little Grebe [Church Pond];1 Water Rail - [Wet Marsh], skulking in front of reeds back and forth;1 Kingfisher - [Beeston Pond];3 Shoveler - [Clifton Pit];2 Redwing flying N;12 Greylag, 3 Egyptian Goose - [New Wetland];5 Skylark, Stock Dove, Pheasant - [E of Trent]; Green Woodpecker, Lesser Black backed Gull - [New Workings]; Brambling & Siskin in roving (mainly Goldfinch) flock; Numerous Teal, Gadwall, Lapwing, G C Grebe, Cormorant, Kestrel, Canada Goose, Mute Swan, B H Gull, Tufted Duck, Pochard, Coot, Moorhen, Grey Heron across the site. Green sandpiper, goldeneye, water rail(2),siskin, tree sparrow(7), jay, redwing(17), golden plover (8), swallow (4).

Wednesday 12th Oct 2005
Rock pipit,16 redwing (flew west a.m.), brambling near delta gate, 20 common terns flew high west over sailing pit at 2.20 p.m. Goldeneye with injured wing stiil on the river, barnacle goose, c.50 golden plover, water rail (4) inc. 2 showing well on wetmarsh, buzzard (2 on southside).

Saturday 8th Oct 2005
21 skylark,12 swallow,1 yellowhammer, 3 siskin all flew west a.m.Also 2 golden plover over and 9 snipe Clifton pit.

Friday 7th Oct 2005
Adult Winter Mediterranean Gull [Tween, New scrapes,17.20 till 18.10].

Saturday 1st Oct 2005
Little Egret [Coneries], 5 Dunlin [Clifton Pit]


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire