Sightings for December 2008

Tuesday 30th Dec 2008
Common Kestrel, Wren, 5 Blackbird, Grey Heron, 12 Tufted Duck, 4 Goosander [Works Pond], 10 Common Pochard, 2 Great Crested Grebe, 3 Cormarant, 2 Robin, 10 Carrion Crow, c.500 Jackdaw, c.1000 Rook, c.100 Black-headed Gull, 6 Coot, 4 Mallard, 10 Northern Shoveler, 5 Gadwall, 12 Eurasian Wigeon, 5 Mute Swan, 2 Woodcock [both Roding in front of Delta hide], Bittern [Delta, roosting].Monday 29th December - c.30 Bohemian Waxwing [A6005/Barratt Lane area — feeding on rowan berries. This flock is mobile betwen Attenborough and Chilwell].

Sunday 28th Dec 2008
Penduline Tit - (Clifton Pond), Stonechat (Wheatear Field), Tawny Owl, Snipe, Lesser Black Backed Gull, Common Gull.

Sunday 28th Dec 2008
Little Egret (Coneries pond near Nature Centre).

Saturday 27th Dec 2008
Little Egret (Coneries Pond near Nature Centre), 2 x Bittern - Delta

Friday 26th Dec 2008
24 Bohemian Waxwing (Barratt's Lane / A6005. Probably the same flock as Mountbatten Way).

Sunday 21st Dec 2008
Bittern (left side of Delta, in reed-bed), Stonechat (pair on Wheatear Field), Goosander (several around and over the reserve).

Thursday 18th Dec 2008
40 Waxwing (by Mac Donalds and Cornmill pub)

Wednesday 17th Dec 2008
10 Bohemian Waxwing [Outside McDonald's then flew across to the pub opposite], 1 Bittern [near Delta] , Fieldfare, Common Kestrel, Egyptian Goose.

Friday 12th Dec 2008
1 x Bittern

Thursday 11th Dec 2008
2+ Bittern.

Wednesday 10th Dec 2008
Ruddy Shelduck (Coneries Pond).

Tuesday 9th Dec 2008
3 Bittern [Delta], Common Goldeneye [male on Clifton Pond], 2 Stonechat [Wheatear Field], Tree Sparrow [on feeders], Gadwall, Eurasian Teal, Eurasian Wigeon, Northern Shoveler.

Monday 8th Dec 2008
1 Pale-bellied Brent Goose [in field with Canada Geese - South of Barton Island].

Sunday 7th Dec 2008
2+ Bittern (from the Delta Hide), Ruddy Shelduck, Pale-bellied Brent Goose [still near Barton Island with c.50 Canada Geese], 3 Goosander, 2 Common Goldeneye

Saturday 6th Dec 2008
Little Egret, Northern Lapwing , 2 Egyptian Goose, 2 Common Goldeneye (Clifton Pond), Reed Bunting, Tree Sparrow, Common Pheasant, Common Kestrel.

Friday 5th Dec 2008
Pale-bellied Brent Goose [still present in fields with Canada Geese upstream from Barton Island].

Thursday 4th Dec 2008
Pale-bellied Brent Goose [still present in fields with Canada Geese upstream from Barton Island], 2 Bittern [showing well from the Bund], c.30 Goosander.

Wednesday 3rd Dec 2008
3 x Bittern, Pale-Bellied Brent Goose, Parakeet (unknown species flew over the village green and went to roost in a tall tree behind the end houses on The Strand).

Tuesday 2nd Dec 2008
Pale-bellied Brent Goose [still present in fields with Canada Geese upstream from Barton Island].

Monday 1st Dec 2008
Pale-Bellied Brent Goose, Treecreeper, Goldeneye, Goosander, Stonechat (Wheatear Field)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire