Sightings for April 2009

Thursday 30th Apr 2009
2 x Whimbrel (Flew over Reserve in early morning)

Tuesday 28th Apr 2009
Marsh Harrier (Clifton Pond - flew off towards main pond in early morning), Whooper Swan (In field on other side of River Trent opposite bungalows), Yellow Wagtail

Monday 27th Apr 2009
Tree Pipit (Erewash Field)

Sunday 26th Apr 2009
Whiskered Tern (Early evening - Long Eaton Gravel Pits), Bar-Tailed Godwit (Clifton Pond)

Saturday 25th Apr 2009
Red Kite (over Centre), Bar-Tailed Godwit (Clifton Pond), 4 x Little Ringed Plover, Garganey (pair on Clifton Pond), Stonechat, Grasshopper Warbler (Wheatear Field), Common Sandpiper (Clifton Pond), Cuckoo (Delta), Swift

Thursday 23rd Apr 2009
Common Sandpiper (ConeriesPond), 2 Little Ringed Plover (Tween Pond), Wheatear (male on Wheatear Field), Grasshopper Warbler, Lesser Whitethroat (many calling throughout Reserve).

Saturday 18th Apr 2009
Garganey (Male on Clifton Pond), Little Gull (single bird on Tween Pond), 2 x Dunlin, Cuckoo (Calling towards Delta this morning), Cuckoo (Male calling in afternoon on Erewash Field)

Friday 17th Apr 2009
18 Waxwing - Chilwell Retail Park (Outside Lidl)

Thursday 16th Apr 2009
22 Little Gull (Clifton Pond) early evening, Swallow, Sand Martin, Sedge Warbler, Blackcap, Garden Warbler, Willow Warbler, 2 Oystercatcher, Lesser Black-backed Gull.

Wednesday 15th Apr 2009
8x Arctic Tern (Tween Pond), Yellow Wagtail, Crag Martin (seen briefly on Main Pond around noon)

Monday 13th Apr 2009
Little Gull

Sunday 12th Apr 2009
2 Common Tern (Coneries Pond)

Saturday 11th Apr 2009
White Wagtail, Grasshopper Warbler (Wheatear Field), Common Tern, Willow Warbler

Friday 10th Apr 2009
Osprey (flew to North-west over Barton Lane and then towards Toton and onwards up the Erewash Valley), Reed Warbler (1st for the year), Sedge Warbler (1st for the year), Grasshopper Warbler (Wheatear Field), Little Ringed Plover, Yellow Wagtail (Clifton Pond)

Thursday 9th Apr 2009
White Wagtail (Erewash outflow)

Tuesday 7th Apr 2009
Little Owl, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff, Black Cap. No sign of the Black-Necked Grebe on Main Pond this morning.

Monday 6th Apr 2009
Black-Necked Grebe - Summer plumage (2 on Main Pond - viewable from the river path half way between The Bund and the Tern Platform), 2 Little Owl (from Barton Lane/River Trent junction in opposite field), Common Whitethroat, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff, Blackcap.

Sunday 5th Apr 2009
Red Kite (over the reserve at c.18:00)

Saturday 4th Apr 2009
Common Tern (first for the year!) on Coneries Pond

Friday 3rd Apr 2009
Spoonbill (Clifton Pond) first sighting since 1980, Little Ringed Plover (Clifton Pond), Blackcap - many singing around Reserve, Chiffchaff, Egyptian Goose (with 3 chicks on Corbett's Meadow), 6 Siskin (feeding on Alder on the path between church and Corbett's Meadow).

Thursday 2nd Apr 2009
Swallow, Sand Martin (Coneries Pond), male and female Red-Crested Pochard (nr. Nature Centre), Water Rail (Willow Peninsula)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire