Sightings for May 2011

Monday 30th May 2011
bullfinch (Kingfisher Hide), blackcap feeding at least two fledglings, grasshopper warbler, kestrel

Sunday 29th May 2011
Temminck's Stint (still present on Clifton Pond early morning - flew off North at c.8:10am with 3 Ringed Plover)

Saturday 28th May 2011
Temminck's Stint (first for the Reserve since c.1965), Little-Ringed Plover, Common Sandpiper (all Clifton Pond)

Tuesday 24th May 2011
Kittiwake, Arctic Tern, Mediterranean Gull (Clifton Pond), Pair of Willow Tits feeding at least 6 recently fledged young, 1 Pink-footed Goose with Greylags (across river East of Barton Flash)

Wednesday 11th May 2011
Common Gull, Turnstone, Little-Ringed Plover, Ringed Plover

Monday 9th May 2011
Common Redshank, 2 Garganey (Pair - Clifton Pond)

Sunday 8th May 2011
Common Shelduck (Pair with 6 young - first to breed on Reserve since c.1970), 2 Common Redshank, Common Gull, 2 Common Sandpiper, Hobby (Clifton Pond), 10 different warbler species noted around Reserve, Ringed Plover

Saturday 7th May 2011
Black Tern, Little Gull (Church Pond), 2 Common Greenshank, Common Sandpiper, Common Redshank

Friday 6th May 2011
Bar-Tailed Godwit, Little-Ringed Plover (Tween Pond), Common Pochard (Clifton Pond)

Thursday 5th May 2011
Whimbrel (Clifton Pond)

Wednesday 4th May 2011
2 Black Tern (Main Pond)

Tuesday 3rd May 2011
Osprey (over Main Pond), 2 Little Egret, 2 Black Tern (Main Pond)

Monday 2nd May 2011
Whinchat, Northern Wheatear (Wheatear Field), Red Kite (flew over), 2 Dunlin (Tween Pond), Black Tern, 2 Mediterranean Gull (Clifton Pond)

Sunday 1st May 2011
DAWN CHORUS DAY - Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff, Cetti's Warbler, Lesser Whitethroat, Common Whitethroat, Willow Warbler, Blackcap, Garden Warbler, Sedge Warbler, Reed Warbler, Greenshank (Tween Pond), 3 Dunlin, Common Crane, 4 Bar-Tailed Godwit, Turnstone (Clifton Pond), Garganey (Drake - Tween Pond), Whimbrel, Marsh Harrier, 6 Bar-Tailed Godwit (early evening)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire