Sightings for July 2011

Saturday 30th Jul 2011
Arctic Tern (Coneries Pond), Little Egret, Black-Tailed Godwit (single bird) - Clifton Pond

Friday 29th Jul 2011
40 Black-Tailed Godwit (Clifton Pond)

Saturday 23rd Jul 2011
Common Sandpiper, 4 Little Egret (Clifton Pond)

Friday 22nd Jul 2011
Yellow Wagtail (juvenile - Tween Pond), 6 Little Egret, Egyptian Geese - with 4 goslings

Thursday 21st Jul 2011
2 Black-Tailed Godwit, 6 Little Egret (Clifton Pond), Common Sandpiper (Coneries Pond)

Monday 18th Jul 2011
34 Little Egret (Coneries Pond - early evening in roost)

Sunday 17th Jul 2011
21 Little Egret (this is the greatest number of Little Egrets ever recorded at Attenborough), 6 Black-Tailed Godwit, juv. Little-Ringed Plover, Common Sandpiper (all Clifton Pond)

Saturday 16th Jul 2011
Little Gull (Adult on Clifton Pond)

Friday 15th Jul 2011
Grasshopper Warbler (reeling on rose bush), Blackcap (many juveniles), Common Whitethroat, Garden Warbler, Sedge Warbler, Reed Warbler, Linnet, Willow Tit, Common Kingfisher, Tufted Duck (with 9 very young ducklings), Yellow-legged Gull, 8 Little Egret, Oystercatcher, Black-tailed Godwit.

Thursday 14th Jul 2011
Black-Tailed Godwit, 4 Little Egret (Clifton Pond)

Wednesday 13th Jul 2011
c.20 Goldfinch (feeding on the thistles in front of tower hide), Linnet (singing from top of tree next to tower hide), Oystercatcher, Cetti’s Warbler, 4 Little Egret

Sunday 10th Jul 2011
9 Little Egret, c.20 Common Tern, Common Sandpiper, c.200 Northern Lapwing, Grasshopper Warbler

Saturday 9th Jul 2011
Butterfly sightings from today's Butterfly ID course: Speckled Wood, Meadow brown, Ringlet, Small skipper, Green-veined White, Peacock, Brimstone (male), Gatekeeper, Red admiral, Comma, Small white, Small copper, Small tortoiseshell

Thursday 7th Jul 2011
Mediterranean Gull (Tween Pond), 100 Sand Martin (Coneries), 20 Common Tern (Church Pond), Grasshopper Warbler (reeling - Wheatear Field), 7 Black-tailed Godwit (adult summer plumage birds circled in and down but departed west-south-west gaining height over Thrumpton), Clifton Pond: 3 Little Egret (2 adult and 1 sub-adult - reed-bed area), 1 Common Sandpiper, 2 Oystercatcher, 15 Common Tern, 5 Common Pochard, 12 Eurasian Teal, 45 Tufted Duck

Wednesday 6th Jul 2011
Common Sandpiper, Little Egret, Grasshopper Warbler

Saturday 2nd Jul 2011
Little egret, linnet (near tower hide), grasshopper warbler, sedge warbler, reed warbler, chiffchaff, barnacle goose(in river with greylags), red-crested pochard, stock dove, blackcaps


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire