Sightings for October 2011

Monday 31st Oct 2011
Squacco Heron, Short-Eared Owl, Bittern (Delta Reedbed)

Sunday 30th Oct 2011
Squacco Heron (Juvenile, Under railway bridge - River Erewash adjacent to Attenborough Sailing Club)

Saturday 29th Oct 2011
Squacco Heron (again under railway bridge over River Erewash - adjacent to Attenborough Sailing Club), 7x Raven (flying South over Erewash Field), Little Egret (Coneries Pond), 2 Short-Eared Owl (Erewash Field)

Friday 28th Oct 2011
Squacco Heron (River Erewash - under railway bridge, near Sailing Club), Short-Eared Owl (Erewash Field)

Saturday 22nd Oct 2011
Willow Tit (Works Pond), Cetti's Warbler (Nature Centre reedbed)

Friday 21st Oct 2011
Willow Tit (Delta), Goosander (female - Works Pond)

Thursday 20th Oct 2011
7 Whooper Swan (Clifton Pond)

Sunday 16th Oct 2011
Bittern (Clifton Pond), 3 Common Snipe. Migration Day Sightings: Common Kingfisher, Eurasian Teal, Eurasian Wigeon, 2 Common Goldeneye (male and female), Northern Shoveler, Common Snipe, Northern Lapwing, Yellow-legged Gull, Common Gull, Black-headed Gull, Great Black-backed Gull, Lesser Black-backed Gull, Herring Gull (juvenile), Honey Buzzard (probable, low over the reserve mid-morning - classic Honey profile - long tail and Cuckoo-like head - through reserve to the east being mobbed constantly (Three birders on hand all considered ‘Honey’, despite the lateness in the season), Common Pochard, Egyptian Goose, Chiffchaff, Blackcap, Redwing, Fieldfare, Jay, Sparrowhawk

Thursday 13th Oct 2011
20+ Siskin, Ruff (female), Common Sandpiper, c.40 Fieldfare, Little Egret, 2 Common Goldeneye, Wigeon, c.25 Skylark, 3 Goosander (works Pond), Cetti's Warbler (Nature Centre Reedbed).

Wednesday 12th Oct 2011
Ruff (female), 2 Common Goldeneye (Clifton Pond)

Monday 10th Oct 2011
c.110 Eurasian Teal, c.60 Gadwall c.40 Northern Shoveler, White-cheeked Pintail (escape), c.150 Northern Lapwing, 1 Ruff, 3 Little Egret, 4 Common Snipe, Yellow-legged Gull (1st winter).

Thursday 6th Oct 2011
Spotted Redshank, Green Sandpiper (Tween Pond), Wigeon, 2 Black-Tailed Godwit (Tween Pond), 3 Little Egret (Delta Reedbed), Cetti's Warbler (The Bund, Wet Marsh Path)

Wednesday 5th Oct 2011
c.70 Wigeon, Black-tailed Godwit, 3 Common Snipe, Green Sandpiper, Water Rail (Clifton Pond)

Tuesday 4th Oct 2011
2 Black-Tailed Godwit, Green Sandpiper, Yellow-Legged Gull

Sunday 2nd Oct 2011
2 Black-tailed Godwit, Yellow-legged Gull, Lesser Black-Backed Gull, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Treecreeper, Green Sandpiper, Reed Warbler, 7 Little Egret (in roost on Coneries Pond), Cetti's Warbler (Barton Lane)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire