Sightings for March 2013

Sunday 31st Mar 2013
Marsh Harrier

Friday 29th Mar 2013
Avocet (flew over Clifton Pond towards Main Pond)Curlew (over), Chiffchaff (singing on Wet Marsh Path - possibly the first summer migrant to return to the Reserve)

Thursday 28th Mar 2013
Pintail (drake - Delta Pond, viewed from The Bund)

Wednesday 27th Mar 2013
1 Bittern [13:00 ], 2 Black-tailed Godwit, 2 Water Rail, 2 Common Snipe

Monday 25th Mar 2013
Bittern x 2 (Clifton Pond)

Sunday 24th Mar 2013
Bittern

Friday 22nd Mar 2013
4 Little Egret, 20 Waxwing (Long Lane - adjacent to the Nature Reserve)

Wednesday 20th Mar 2013
Bittern (Clifton Pond reedbed)

Thursday 14th Mar 2013
2 x bittern (Tower Hide), redpoll, linnet, nuthatch

Wednesday 13th Mar 2013
41 Whooper Swan (Short stay on Coneries at 12:55 before returning to south side of Trent), 2 Chiffchaff (riverside of Clifton Pond at 13:30), 5 Common Snipe (Clifton pond at 14:00), 1 Snipe seen from 1st screen on Barton Lane on several occasions

Monday 11th Mar 2013
Whooper Swans (Coneries near the Nature Centre)

Sunday 10th Mar 2013
Curlew (2) in field behind Barton Island, Dunlin (1) Initially on Cottages Flash but also briefly on Clifton Pit, Black-tailed godwit (1) Cottages Flash, Herring Gull (pr adults) displaying on Clifton Pit

Saturday 9th Mar 2013
Common sandpiper (2), Lapwings (tween pond), oystercatcher, fieldfare, redwings, reed buntings, tree sparrows (kingfisher hide), Great spotted woodpecker (willow peninsula), shelduck, goldeneye, goosander, pochard, wigeon (clifton pond), Cettis warbler (tower hide). Little grebe(church pond)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire