Sightings for March 2014

Monday 31st Mar 2014

Kittiwake (Adult - Coneries Pond), 3 Little Gull (2 adult, 1 first winter), Willow Warbler (River Path)

Saturday 29th Mar 2014

Brambling (Male seen along Wet Marsh Path - with Chaffinches), Chiffchaff, Cetti's Warbler, 4 Red-crested Pochard (3 male, 1 female), 4 Goldeneye (1 male, 3 female), pair of Oystercatcher, 4 Buzzard, Kestrel, Brimstone Butterfly

Friday 28th Mar 2014

Bittern, 18 Shoveler, c.25 Teal, 5 Sand Martin (over to NE)

Thursday 27th Mar 2014

5 Whooper Swan (Clifton Pond), 3 Cetti's Warbler, 10+ Sand Martin (Coneries Pond), 25 Shoveler

Tuesday 25th Mar 2014

Little Egret (2 in trees in the Coneries roost 5.30PM), BITTERN (one showed really well in the open for 20mins in the large reedpen in front of the tower hide. At 5.25 it flew across into the next reedpen and was lost to sight), Shoveler (18 on Clifton Pond island), Redshank, Goosander (14)

Monday 24th Mar 2014
Garden Warbler (seen by the Work's Bridge)

Sunday 23rd Mar 2014
9 Sand Martin

Thursday 20th Mar 2014
2 Sand Martin (Clifton Pond), Grasshopper Warbler (River Path between Bund and North Path) - could be earliest record for Nottinghamshire! (previous extreme date 30/03/89 at Colwick CP)

Tuesday 18th Mar 2014
COMMON TERN (Clifton Pond)

Sunday 16th Mar 2014
treecreeper, chiffchaff, little egret, goldeneye

Saturday 15th Mar 2014
Common Shelduck (Tween Pond), Cetti's Warbler (Car Park - next to roundabout)

Tuesday 11th Mar 2014
4 Pintail (Clifton Pond)

Saturday 8th Mar 2014
Buzzard x3 (flying over), Cetti's Warbler, Kingfisher (Coneries Pond), Chiffchaff (Barton Lane), Snipe, Oystercatcher x3, Common Gull, Herring Gull (Tween Pond), Peregrine Falcon (over Delta)

Friday 7th Mar 2014
Chiffchaff, Blackcap, Cetti's Warbler, c.20 Common Snipe, Water Rail, Bittern (Clifton Pond)

Thursday 6th Mar 2014
2 Bittern (Clifton Pond reedbed), 6 Common Snipe

Tuesday 4th Mar 2014
Kingfisher, Dunlin, 2 Oystercatcher, 2 Herring Gull, 2 Water Rail, 6+ Common Snipe, 3+ Cetti's Warblers (one was in courting mode and seemed to be showing "one armpit" at a time to a lady), Goldeneye, Goosander, Great-crested Grebe, Shoveller, Pochard, Wigeon

Saturday 1st Mar 2014
Shelduck, Herring Gull (tween pond), Common Snipe, Oystercatcher (clifton pond), Song Thrush, Cettis Warbler (next to tower hide), Common Buzzard (over delta)


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire