Sightings for May 2016

Monday 23rd May 2016

Glossy Ibis

Monday 16th May 2016

3 Whimbrel (Work's Pond)

Friday 13th May 2016

Black Tern (2 on Coneries Pond), Common Sandpiper (in front of Sand Martin Hide)

Thursday 12th May 2016

4 Black Tern and 6 Arctic Tern [Coneries, 10:34]. Also Dunlin and Little Ringed Plover [Ridge and Furrow]. 3 Black Tern and single Arctic Tern [still present this afternoon].

Wednesday 11th May 2016

2 Black Tern [Tween Pond, 07:15] and 2 Dunlin [Gull Island, Clifton Pit], 4 Black Tern [Tween Pond, 08:00, then moved to the Sailing Pit], 2 Common Redshank, 6 Arctic Tern and 4 Black Tern [this evening].

Tuesday 10th May 2016

2 Goosander (males Coneries Pond), 2 Turnstone (over Clifton Pond), 9 Turnstone [2 through Clifton Pit, 09:45, 2 through Clifton Pit, 12:30 and 5 Clifton Pit 19:14, then flew South/East 20:00], Knot [through Clifton Pit, 17:00], Garganey [drk, Clifton Pit, 12:30], 6 Black Tern and 2 Arctic Tern [Sailing Pit, 20:00] Greenshank [briefly, Ridge and Furrow, this morning] and 2 unidentified wader [possibly Sanderling, through Clifton Pit, 17:00].

Monday 9th May 2016

Black Necked Grebe, Little Tern, Black Tern, 7 Greenshank, Hobby (early evening over Delta reedbed)

Friday 6th May 2016

2 x Whiskered Tern (Long Eaton Gravel Pits)

Wednesday 4th May 2016

3 Dunlin, Ringed Plover (wheatear Field Ridge and Furrow)

Monday 2nd May 2016

Cuckoo (calling, then flew close in front of the Tower Hide, Clifton Pit this afternoon), Dunlin (Clifton Pond) and Dunlin (Wheatear Field, Ridge and Furrow, with both Dunlin together ridge & furrow, 17:30), Yellow Wagtail (Barton Lane, horse paddock, 17:45).

Sunday 1st May 2016

Whinchat (male, Wheatear Field On fence posts back of Ridge and Furrow, 17:40), Arctic Tern (Main Pond, 12:10).


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire