Sightings for March 2017

Tuesday 28th Mar 2017

Water Pipit [Ridge and Furrow, 09:40]. Also 2 Little Ringed Plover [Ridge and Furrow], Pintail [drk, still on Tween], 15+Cetti's Warbler [across the reserve] and good numbers of Sand Martin and Chiffchaff.

Monday 27th Mar 2017

4 Little Gull [adults, on Clifton Pit 11:40 to 16:30, then flew South]. Also Avocet [briefly on Clifton Pit, this afternoon].

Sunday 26th Mar 2017

Firecrest [In scrub along the reserve path closest to Beeston Weir, 10:00]. Also Pintail [drk, still on Tween] and several Sand Martin on the reserve.

Saturday 25th Mar 2017

Pintail [drk, Tween Pond this afternoon]. Also Sand Martin [Sailing Pit, this morning].

Wednesday 22nd Mar 2017

45 Waxwing [in the main car park, 12:58]. Also 2 Little Ringed Plover [Ridge and Furrow] and 4 Whooper Swan [on the Sailing Pit, 17:00]

Tuesday 21st Mar 2017

Red Kite [flew over the Long Eaton GPs, towards ANR, 10:08].

Wednesday 15th Mar 2017

Blackcap (singing throughout Reserve), Chiffchaff, Raven (towards Brandshill Wood)

Monday 13th Mar 2017

Sand Martin [straight through due north over Clifton Pit], 3 Little Egret [into Coneries roost, up to nine in recent nights], 12 Shoveler, 80 Wigeon and 4 Pochard.

Friday 10th Mar 2017

16 Waxwing [between 8 and 16, still present between the Cricket Pitch and Tween Pond Strand entrance, 07:26 to 12:00 at least].

Thursday 9th Mar 2017

Hen Harrier [Ringtail, over the Strand mobbed by corvids, then lost from view behind trees, 10:00], 16 Waxwing [Still between the Cricket Pitch and Tween Pond Strand entrance, showing well 07:25 to 16:15 at least] and Sand Martin [over the Visitor Centre garden this morning].

Wednesday 8th Mar 2017

17 Waxwing [in trees between cricket pitch and tween pond strand entrance, 16:20]. Also 36 Goldeneye [Clifton Pit].

Tuesday 7th Mar 2017

6 Cetti's Warbler [singing at various point], 2 Chiffchaff [one in NE corner and another in car park] and singing Blackcap.


Nature Reserves in Nottinghamshire